ESASTAP Subscribe
ESASTAP is a dedicated platform for the advancement of European  South African scientific and technological cooperation

Research funding for South Africans

FP7 / Horizon 2020 funding

Horizon 2020 is the financial instrument implementing the Innovation Union, a Europe 2020 flagship initiative aimed at securing Europe's global competitiveness. Running from 2014 to 2020 with an 80 billion budget, the EU's new programme for research and innovation is part of the drive to create new growth and jobs in Europe.

Department of Science and Technology (DST) dedicated support instruments

To support and aid potential South African Framework Programme participants, the Department of Science and Technology (DST) has created a number of dedicated support instruments.

National Contact Points - NCPs

The South African Department of Science and Technology has appointed National Contact Points (NCPs) to provide guidance and assistance to South African participants in the European Union's Horizon 2020.


The Framework Programmes avail several instruments to support South Africa - European Union S&T cooperation. These for example include the Marie Curie Mobility Instruments. There are also non-Framework Programme instruments, for example those presented by the European & Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP) or the COST fundamental research programme, available to support cooperation. Find out more

  European Commission